Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Who will be the next inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame?

On Wednesday, the NASCAR Hall of Fame voting committee will get together once again to vote on the second class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. One ballot is already determined, as it’ll contain the result of the fan vote that wrapped up last month on NASCAR.com. As for the other ballots cast, at least some of the names on them look to be up in the air.

Of the 25 men nominated for induction this go around, only one of them seems to be a shoe-in—David Pearson. Pearson was expected by many to be among the five inaugural nominees, but instead, the place he was expected to fill went to Junior Johnson.

The first class of nominees that was announced last fall and officially inducted earlier this year was much easier to predict. After all, Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt were considered certainties, with Petty being NASCAR’s all-time win leader and he and Earnhardt being the only two drivers with seven Cup titles. Also, Bill France Sr. and Bill France Jr. were expected to be part of the first class. France Sr. was the father of the sport, of sorts, creating NASCAR and getting it off the ground, and France Jr. followed in his father’s footsteps and brought NASCAR into the modern era.

This time around, though, the inductees are harder to predict. With the shoe-ins, except for maybe Pearson, going in with the first induction, it’s hard to tell who’ll make up the second class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

To read more, visit Auto Racing Daily.


Post a Comment